EDTC Learning Project

Learning ASL- Final Assignment Post

Hey everyone!

I cant believe we are at the end of this semester and finalizing up some assignments and the courses! This semester learning ASL as my learning project has been really incredible. I feel like I have really expanded my knowledege as a teacher and learner from this class. Coming into this class, I had a basic knowledge of technology and even ASL. I have learned a few ASL words from when I worked in a daycare. I was able to learn a few basic words and teach them to my daycare toddlers so that we could mainly communicate during meal times.

I have used a variety of websites, apps and twitter followers to get all my information for my learning project.

Week 1: Lets Get to Learning

  • In this weeks blog post, I really just explain what project I am going to do.

I came to the conclusion that I wanted to learn ASL for two reasons:

1) I think learning this may be useful in my next years of teaching and 2) ASL is a special form of communication for a wide range of people around the world.

I started with downloading a variety of apps, as well as setting goals for each week. Some of these goals were met, and some were not!

Week 2: Watch me Struggle to Remember the Alphabet 

In this weeks learning post, I did actually learn the full alphabet in ASL.

My video was posted to youtube.

Week 3: Hi my name is H-A-I-L-I-E 

In this weeks video, I learned how to finger spell my name. Here is my video so you guys can rewatch it if you want to. I also just used Photobooth on my mac to create this video and then I uploaded it to youtube.

I also explained a bit about the process, saying that it was harder than I thought to learn a phrase.

Week 4: Colours Galore

This week I learned how to sign some different colours. My video link is here to watch it again.

Wow was this post difficult because I had to memorize all the different colours and the different signs to go with them!

Week 5: the importance of deal culture 

This week, I wont lie to you, I was feeling a bit sluggish and didnt feel like creating a video so I learned a bit about deaf culture instead. Which I still believe is important because I dont think its appropriate to just want to use sign language without knowing its importance. I used Healthy Hearing to research the importance of deaf culture. I also used Start ASL- deaf culture to learn about Signing and deaf culture.

In this post, I then gave some facts about deaf culture.

Week 6: Surprise! 

This week I decided to take things in a new direction and surprise my roommates with some ASL phrases that I have been learning. Here is the video for it. I found this weeks post probably the most fun out of them all because I was able to do the learning with my friends and have fun with it.

week 7: Get your ASL in Gear 

This week, I learned some new ASL sign but in phrases. I must say that this weeks was a tough one because I learned multiple different phrases and so I had to remember each phrase and each sign to go with them. I also created a fun video this week using I-movie so I found this weeks to be a fun week also. Video.

Week 8: Mid Semester Blues 

So I think my heading says it all because during this week, I was so run down and exhausted. Even though this was the case, I was still able to create another video using Screen Castify. The video talks about different resources you can find for learning ASL along with all the different websites and videos I used in the video.

Week 9: Kick that ASL in the Class. 

In this weeks learning post, I learned a ton of different classroom signs. I really enjoyed this one because I was able to play around with the video editing portion and create a cool video using Videorama. Here is the link to this video. 

Week 10: A story about my family 

This is the last learning post for the semester. I wanted to end the semester with a nice video on family signs because I feel like I have had so much support from my family these last four years of my degree. so here is my video link where you will see me sign some cool family signs in a cool video used on Adobe Clip.

Here is a list of all the apps that I used to create my videos: 

As I was going through each of my posts for this project post, I realized that my first few blog posts were very boring and lame! As the weeks went by I tried to experiement more with my videos and making my blog posts a fun and exciting place. I want people to read them so I had to make them interesting.

I also would say that this learning project is such a fantastic idea for students in university and students in a classroom in elementary, middle school or high school. I will definitely be taking this idea and transfering it to my own classroom some day. I also think that the process of doing this learning project is really great to show students. I was able to look back at all my posts and realize how far I have come and all the different things that I have learned!

So here we have it! The final assignment is almost done. Thank you to all my fellow classmates and Katia for making this semester such a cool and exciting one. I have learned so much about some seriously cool apps and websites. I also felt like I learned a lot about cyberbullying with Carol Todd and about myself as a online educator.

 

 

 

Uncategorized

Final Video Assignment

So this class has been a great journey for me. I feel that I have really expanded on my knowledge as an educator.  Here is my final video:

Here is my Script for this video:

ECCU Visual Representation 2.0

thank you to Audrey and my fellow classmates for an awesome semester filled with really great information that I will absolutely be taking with me to my teaching career.